SWARIA Members ArDOT Grant Recipients

LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas Department of Transportation has announced the award recipients for its Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) for 2020. Several Southwest Arkansas Regional Intermodal Authority (SWARIA) members were TAP grant recipients.

The Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) provides funding for programs and projects defined as “transportation alternatives” for pedestrians, bicyclists and other non-motorized forms of transportation. It was authorized by the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act. It is a reimbursement-type grant program that provides for an 80 percent federal share and a 20 percent local match from eligible applicants. Under the TAP program, eligible projects can include construction of on-road and off-road trail facilities that include sidewalks, bicycle infrastructure, pedestrian and bicycle signals, lighting and other safety related infrastructure. Conversion of abandoned railroad corridors for pedestrian and bicycle trails is also eligible.

SWARIA member recipients are:

Clark County--Dawson Education Cooperative in Arkadelphia–sidewalk expansion–$150,000

Pike County–City of Glenwood–Broadway/Highway 70/Tennessee Street sidewalks–$150,000

Pike County–City of Murfreesboro–North Washington Street sidewalks and safety improvements–$334,000

For 2020, a total of 78 TAP applications ($22.8 million) were received and 43 projects were awarded for $8.9 million.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *